Home batteries and backup

Home Battery or Large Power Station for Outages? Powerwall 3 and IQ 5P Against F3800 Plus and DELTA Pro 3

Published · By the SolarPanelX editors · Prices and specs as of that date, from the pages under Sources

Summary

An installed home battery keeps the whole house, or the circuits you choose, running automatically and can take the rooftop array's full output; a large portable unit keeps the loads you plug in, costs a fraction installed, and needs no permit. In numbers: Powerwall 3 stores 13.5 kWh and delivers up to 11.5 kW; one IQ Battery 5P stores 5.0 kWh and delivers 3.84 kVA; Anker's F3800 Plus stores 3.84 kWh and delivers 6 kW, expandable to 53.8 kWh; EcoFlow's DELTA Pro 3 stores 4 kWh and delivers 4 kW, expandable to 48 kWh, and listed at $2,799 on October 4, 2026. EnergySage's installed price for a 13.5 kWh battery in our earlier guide was about $15,650.

The four, on the lines that matter for an outage

Tesla Powerwall 3Enphase IQ Battery 5PAnker SOLIX F3800 PlusEcoFlow DELTA Pro 3
Energy per unit13.5 kWh5.0 kWh usable3,840 Wh4 kWh
Continuous power5.8 to 11.5 kW by installed rating; 15.4 kW off-grid option3.84 kVA6,000 W, 120 V and 240 V4,000 W, 120 V and 240 V; X-Boost to 6,000 W
Motor start185 LRA48 A LRAnot statednot stated
Expansionexpansion units; charge up to 8 kW with threemore units, one per 20 A circuitup to six BP3800, 53.8 kWhextra batteries to 48 kWh
Solar input20 kW DC, six MPPTsnone; PV enters through microinverters3,200 W over two 165 V inputsper-port figures not on the page we read
Switchoverautomatic, with Backup Gatewayautomatic, with IQ System Controller 3/3Gmanual unless paired with a transfer panel20 ms with Smart Home Panel 2 ($1,599, electrician required)
Installationlicensed installer, permitcertified installer, permitnone for cord usenone for cord use
Priceabout $15,650 installed for 13.5 kWh (EnergySage, in our earlier guide)not listed; through distributorsnot re-checked$2,799 unit; $4,459 with one extra battery

Where the home battery wins

Hardwired loads, 240 V circuits without a transfer panel, the furnace and well pump, and anything that must stay on while nobody is home. It also charges from the full array: Powerwall 3 takes 20 kW of DC, where the largest portable here takes 3.2 kW. And it is the only option that runs the whole house through a multi-day outage with solar refilling it, which our islanding guide describes.

Where the portable unit wins

Price, time and portability. A DELTA Pro 3 or F3800 Plus is bought, charged and in use the same week, with no permit; it moves to the campsite or the next house; and with a transfer panel added later it can grow into a partial-home system. For the loads in our 24-hour outage guide, a fridge, phones, lights and a router, 4 kWh covers the day without touching the house wiring.

The honest middle

A portable unit with a sub-panel sits between the two: automatic switchover and chosen circuits, at the cost of an electrician and a permit, tied to one brand's large units. Our guide on connecting a power station to the house walks through that route.

Shopping for one? Browse home backup power stations →

Sources

  1. Tesla — Powerwall 3 Datasheet
  2. Enphase — IQ Battery 5P Data Sheet
  3. Anker SOLIX — F3800 Plus Portable Power Station
  4. EcoFlow US — DELTA Pro 3 Portable Power Station
  5. EcoFlow US — Smart Home Panel 2
  6. EnergySage — How much do solar batteries cost? (as read for our installed-cost guide)

We have not tested these products. Specs, prices, stock and terms are as published on these pages on the date above and can change; check the manufacturer or retailer before you buy.

More home batteries and backup guides

Home batteries and backupWhat Does a Solar-Plus-Battery Home Do From the Moment the Grid Fails Until Power Returns?Within seconds of losing grid power, a home PV system with battery storage can detect the outage and switch into an islanded mode that keeps the house…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupWhy Can't You Compare Home Battery Spec Sheets Line by Line?Capacity, continuous power, efficiency, and warranty are the lines that matter, yet each brand measures them under different conditions. Tesla lists…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupCan a Home Battery Start an Air Conditioner or a Well Pump?It depends on two power ratings, not on how many kWh are stored. One is continuous output, the other is how much current the battery can deliver for…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupIf the Power Goes Out at Night, How Many Hours Will a Home Battery Last?Runtime is the energy left when the outage starts divided by the load, and at night the energy left is mostly set by how much you told the battery to…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupWhat Limits a Home Battery and a Portable Generator During an Outage?A generator is limited by fuel and by where it can safely run; a battery is limited by its stored charge and by sunlight to refill it. DOE points out…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupCan Enphase IQ8 Microinverters Power a House in a Daytime Outage With No Battery?Enphase says that with IQ8 and IQ9 microinverters, "your lights, fans, and phones can stay powered even during a daytime grid outage, with or without…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupHow Much Rooftop Solar Can Connect Directly to a Tesla Powerwall 3?Up to 20 kW of solar (STC rating) per unit, across six MPPT inputs. Powerwall 3 has a solar inverter built in, and each unit delivers up to 11.5 kW of…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupCan You Install a Home Battery Without Solar Panels?It depends on the manufacturer. Tesla's Powerwall support page has a section titled "Without Solar" that describes charging from the grid when rates…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupHow Much Does a Home Battery Cost Once It Is Installed?EnergySage's quote data put a 13.5 kWh battery at about $15,650 before incentives, or $1,159 per kWh (updated August 26, 2026). The per-kWh price…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupCan Solar Panels Plug Straight Into an EG4 GridBOSS?The GridBOSS spec sheet lists no DC input for panels. Its ports are for the utility, a generator, backed-up and non-backed-up loads, three hybrid…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupDoes a Signature Solar "18kPV" Kit Come With 18 kW of Solar?No. "18kPV" is the model name of the EG4 inverter. Kit KIT-E0007 ships with eighteen 450 W or 460 W panels, which adds up to roughly 8.1 to 8.3 kW…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupDoes Adding a SolarEdge Home Battery Keep the Lights On in an Outage?Not on its own. SolarEdge says backup requires a connection to the Home Hub Inverter (single phase) and the Home Backup Interface, and that backup…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupDoes a Sol-Ark 15K's GEN Port Take a Generator or More Solar?Either one, but only one at a time. The 15K datasheet (PS-00001 Rev. 8) describes GEN as a bidirectional port for a fuel generator, AC-coupled PV or…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupWhat Do You Pay for a Base Power Battery If You Never Buy It?Base Power keeps ownership of the battery for the whole agreement. The homeowner pays an installation fee and, in Texas, a monthly membership, and…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupEG4 FlexBOSS21 and 18kPV Side by Side: Where the Spec Sheets Separate ThemBoth are 48 V hybrid inverters with three MPPTs, a 250 A battery connection and a 10-year warranty, and EG4 recommends the same 21 kW of solar on…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupPowerwall 3 Is Sold at Four Output Ratings. Which One You Get Decides What Runs in an OutageTesla's datasheet lists Powerwall 3's nominal AC output as 5.8, 7.6, 10 or 11.5 kW, with maximum continuous current of 24, 31.7, 41.7 or 48 A. The…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupSignature Solar's Home Backup Bundles, Priced Per kWh: What $4,913 to $14,505 BuysOn October 4, 2026 Signature Solar's Home Backup Kits page listed eleven bundles from $4,913.00 to $14,505.38. Where the listing states battery…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupWhat "5.0 kWh Usable" Means on an Enphase IQ Battery 5P: Reserves, Round Trip, One Unit per Circuit and 6,000 CyclesEnphase lists the IQ Battery 5P's total and usable capacity as the same 5.0 kWh, and then qualifies it: the usable figure includes a 2%…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupHow Much Do Solar Batteries for a Home Cost in 2026, by Size and by Brand?About $1,159 per kWh installed, before incentives, on EnergySage's marketplace data updated August 26, 2026: roughly $5,800 for 5 kWh, $11,600 for 10…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupCan You Get Home Battery Backup Without Solar, Which Products Allow It, and What Does It Cost?Yes, with some products and not others, and it costs about what a battery costs with solar. Tesla's Powerwall support page has a section titled…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupHow Much Does Base Power Cost? Installation Fee, Monthly Fee, Electricity Rate and What Happens If You LeaveIn Base Power's Texas example for the Oncor service area: a $695 installation fee, $19 a month ($19 or $29 depending on plan), and electricity from…Read the guide →Home batteries and backupWhat Is the Tesla Powerwall 3 AC Rating?It depends on how it was installed. Tesla's datasheet lists four nominal AC output ratings for Powerwall 3, 5.8 kW, 7.6 kW, 10 kW and 11.5 kW, at 24…Read the guide →

All home batteries and backup guides · All guides and search